top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWomen Who Lead

Scavenger Hunt

Updated: Dec 27, 2020

A really fun way to get the girls up and moving while using hints to learn new information about powerful female leaders.



Learning Outcome: Using a fun scavenger hunt game to quiz the girls on their knowledge of powerful women and their place in history.





Materials:

  • Hints to help the girls find clues!

  • Graphic organizers for the girls to fill out as they play (see example)

  • Treats/prizes as the girls finish!


Project Run-Time: 1 Meeting


Step #1:

There are two steps to set up for this project. First, cut up the scavenger hunt clues and paste them around in their designated hiding areas. A lot of our little rhymes relate to where we hid them, so some alterations may need to be in order if you change location. Make sure to remove the name of the women so that just the little riddle is left in the hiding place. The girls will use this riddle to decide which woman it fits best and fill in their answer sheets.


The riddles and where we hid them:


Jane Goodall (tree)

I work in the jungles

Mostly in the trees

Some may say

My best friends are chimpanzees

Who am I?


Anne Frank (class library)

I am a young girl

Who spent most of my life in hiding

I share my story with you

Through my famous piece of writing

Who am I?


Malala Yousafzai (document camera)

I believe education

Is the most valuable skill

For all girls to learn

And to have a free will

Who am I?


Michelle Obama (play kitchen area)

I am an influential women

With a powerful voice

I am known for encouraging Americans 

To make a healthier choice

Who am I?


Amelia Earhart (jungle gym)

 I was not like other girls

I wanted to fly a plane

I was the first woman to fly

And that’s why you remember my name.

Who am I?


Emma Watson (class computers)

I am an actress

I can wave a wand with ease

But I can also write speeches

Like the well known HeforShe

Who am I?


Marie Curie (bathroom sink)

I really like science 

Specifically chemistry

I received the Nobel Peace Prize

And earned my place in history

Who am I?


Frida Kahlo (hallway by artwork)

I come from a country 

With bright fruits and bold colors

My gift to the world 

Was my art in watercolors

Who am I?


Serena and Venus Williams (basketball court by playground)

We are two sisters

Who really caused a “racquet”

We’re two amazing athletes

Winning is our habit

Who are we?


Maya Angelou (by the library)

My poetry was a window

To the African American movement 

My work through my writing

Brought about a cultural improvement.

Who am I?


Step #2:

Print off "clue" sheets for the program school leaders. These will be used to give the girls hints on where to begin looking for their women. Each time they discover a new riddle and connect it to a female leader, they will need to be given a new hint to look for their next women.


Link to clues:


Step #3:

Before the girls get started, give them their worksheets. The worksheet includes all the names of the possible women in one column along with where they found them and what they know about them. Encourage the girls to fill out all the facts they know, but not to stress if they don't know much about a particular woman.


Link to Worksheet:





Step #4:

As each group finishes, give them a reward. Candy is always a safe bet. :) As a sort of tie up for the activity, have a group discussion about each of the women. Have the girls share information they know about each woman but also ask questions and fill in information that they don't.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page